At least one thing is sure – I’m definitely not a graduate.

There are a few things in life I’m sure of:

My name, Trudi.

My age, 22.

My amazing family, amazing.

My occupation….

Guess that one goes on the other list – the things I’m not sure of.

Where I’m going, no idea.

What I’m doing, still no idea.

What I want… for breakfast?

But before I confuse myself, and you, even more, lets get the basics clear. My name is Trudi. I am a 22 year old living in Brisbane in a small flat behind my fiance’s parent’s house (enough said?). I’m studying a dual degree in economics and journalism – and have been for the last 5 years. Currently, I’m working at an inner-city mid-tier accounting firm, not in accounting. I’m a PA looking for a break in management. I think. Or maybe economic consulting, or maybe a job at a news desk, or maybe I’ll try my hand at eco farming.

And so we have this little creation. I’m not a graduate (yet), but I’d like to be. I’m not sure where I’m going, but I’d like to go somewhere amazing. And where ever that is, I have no idea how I’m going to get there. So  I am setting myself a task, to use my passion for writing to help myself work this little question out (AND ALL THOSE MILLION OTHERS), and perhaps give some other people a few laughs (yawns?) along the way.

Here goes.

When my fiance suggested I use a blog to help me work out what I wanted to do with myself, I was VERY skeptical. While I’m one course away from finishing the journalism component of my dual degree, I feel like I haven’t learnt a thing about how to be a good writer. What I have learnt is how to be a sore loser, have an attitude problem, and be overly picky. Qualities every employer looks for I’m sure (they keep telling us we will be highly employable on completion… did I miss a class?). But while I may not be able to write the most compelling feature on the airport link-bikie gang scandal, I can cook an a amazing crispy skin duck breast.

So with no certainty on my ability as I writer I embark on this promising journey of self discovery. Well, lets not get too far ahead of ourselves.

So the first big issue I’m going to tackle? I’ll sort that one out tomorrow.

This entry was posted in Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to At least one thing is sure – I’m definitely not a graduate.

  1. J Cooper says:

    What makes a good writer (and probably economist) is very much an esoteric thing. The best writers break all the rules and create their own realism. Mostly they do not look to accumulate accolades nor achieve financial satisfaction. They write because they have no choice.

    Do not mistake the accidental successes of the few with the forced achievements of the many.

  2. will says:

    go trudes.

  3. Tanea says:

    Sore loser? Attitude problem? Hmm might need to explore that a bit more?
    I look forward to your journey 🙂

Leave a Reply

